Saudi Arabia · SAU · snapshot 2026-10-06
Saudi Arabia
Measured
Currency movement
Not measured
The European Central Bank publishes no euro reference rate for this currency, so there is no twelve-month entry window to state. That is a fact about the series, not about the market.
Foreign-buyer rules
4 of 4 published rules apply
These are the restrictions a foreign buyer meets before price is even discussed — approval regimes, surcharges, ownership limits.
What it does not show. It is not a completeness claim. A rule we have not read is not a rule that does not exist, and this row counts what is cited, not what is in force.
Cost of money
4.25%
The price of money to banks in this jurisdiction, which sets the floor everything else is priced from.
What it does not show. It is emphatically not a mortgage quote. What a non-resident is offered is a different number, usually much higher, and the gap between them is where a market's financing story actually lives.
Supply against absorption
Not measured
No statistics agency for this market has been read and cleared for republication.
Residential price cycle
67.5 against a 2015 base of 100
House prices have risen more slowly than consumer prices since 2015, or fallen — the market is below its own inflation-adjusted level of that year.
What it does not show. It is a position, not a direction, and it is not a valuation. Deflating by consumer prices says nothing about what the asset yields or what credit costs, and a market can sit above its 2015 level for years without that meaning anything is due.
Valuation against its own history
Not measured
The OECD house-price dataset does not carry this territory, so there is no ratio to state. The dataset covers its members and a set of partner economies, and most of the world is in neither.
On the market now
Not measured
No listings platform has been read for this market. The one platform this site can read covers Russian cities only, and inventing a count for anywhere else would be worse than an empty row.
No dossier has been written for this market yet. What follows is the measured layers and the rules, each with its source — not an argument about whether to be here. A market reaches this page as soon as two layers can be cited, because an unwritten thesis is a reason to publish less, not a reason to publish nothing.
The series behind those figures, and the workings
Cost of money
4.25%
Central bank policy rate, 2026-08. Source: Bank for International Settlements.
This is the price of money to banks, not the price of money to a non-resident buying a building. The gap between those two is where a market’s financing story actually lives, and it is not in this number. A mortgage quote for a foreign buyer depends on the lender, the asset and the borrower, and no public dataset carries it.
BIS terms permit this figure on a free page and state that nothing in their statistics constitutes investment advice. They also allow inclusion in a commercial product only where it adds no charge, so this series is published here and is not priced into any paid work.
Background
Annual national statistics from the World Bank, under a licence that permits reuse with attribution. They describe the country; they do not time an entry, and they are not counted as measurements of this market — otherwise every territory on earth would claim to be measured on the strength of one dataset.
| Indicator | Value | Year |
|---|---|---|
| GDP per capita | 34,537 US$ | 2025 |
| Consumer price inflation | 2.1 % | 2025 |
| Population | 36,973,555 | 2025 |
| Urban population | 84.6 % of total | 2025 |
| Official exchange rate | 3.7500 per US$ | 2025 |
What the rules do to a foreign buyer
Each entry cites the instrument and the authority page it was read from, with the date it was retrieved. Facts of law change; the retrieval date is how you know how old this reading is.
| Topic | How it fails you | In force | When it bites | Applies to | What applies | Instrument | Read on |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresident individual ownership depends on designated zones | Not allowedMoney does not open it | In forcefrom 2026-01-22 | On the way in | All propertyBoth are asked | Under the replacement law effective from 22 January 2026, the ordinary route for a non-Saudi nonresident individual is ownership or other real rights within areas designated by the Council of Ministers. The designation determines permitted rights, ownership percentages and usufruct duration. In Makkah and Madinah this individual route is limited to Muslims. The one-home exception outside designated areas is for lawful residents and excludes those two cities. Better rights under the GCC-national and Privileged Residency regimes are preserved. No parcel has been checked against the approved geographic maps in this review. | Law of Real Estate Ownership by Non-Saudis, Royal Decree M/14, Articles 2 and 5; commencement confirmed by REGA on 22 January 2026. | 2026-09-06 |
| Nonresident individuals need identity and account prerequisites | Something must be filed | In forceNot stated by the source | On the way in | All propertyBoth are asked | Before acquiring property or other real rights, a non-Saudi nonresident individual must obtain a digital identity, open a Saudi bank account in their own name and obtain a Saudi contact number linked to that identity. Applications go through the ownership portal and financial transactions use electronic payment channels. These are legal prerequisites; this evidence does not show that any particular buyer can obtain the account or clear a bank's checks. | Final Implementing Regulations of the Law of Real Estate Ownership by Non-Saudis, Articles 2 and 6; REGA marks the regulation active and records publication as 1448/01/08. | 2026-09-06 |
| Foreign companies must register before acquiring | Something must be filed | In forceNot stated by the source | On the way in | All propertyYour passport | A non-Saudi company must register with the Ministry of Investment and disclose its direct and indirect owners before acquisition. Its legal representative needs identification issued under Saudi rules, and the company must have a Saudi bank account in its own name. Registration is an additional prerequisite, not evidence of bank acceptance or eligibility for a particular location. | Final Implementing Regulations of the Law of Real Estate Ownership by Non-Saudis, Article 3; REGA active text published 1448/01/08. | 2026-09-06 |
| The two vehicle routes, and the one that reaches Makkah and Madinah | Somebody has to say yesMoney does not open it | In forcefrom 2026-01-22 | On the way in | All propertyYour passportReaches a company tooA business runs from it | The Law's own text routes a company and a fund differently from an individual, and this is the part that decides an institutional purchase. A company not listed on the Saudi Stock Exchange, incorporated under the Saudi Companies Law and whose capital is owned by one or more non-Saudi natural or legal persons, may own real estate or acquire other rights in rem within the geographical area the Council of Ministers designates — including Makkah and Madinah, which the individual route reaches only for Muslim natural persons and which the resident's single-home route excludes outright. Incorporating locally therefore does not put non-Saudi capital outside this Law; it moves it to a different article of the same Law. Subject to that, such a company may also own outside the designated area what is necessary for the exercise of its business activities and for the housing of its employees, as the Regulations specify. Listed Saudi companies, licensed investment funds and special purpose entities are on a fourth footing again: they own and acquire rights in rem in the Kingdom, Makkah and Madinah included, under the Capital Market Law and its Implementing Regulations and the controls set by the Capital Market Authority in coordination with the Real Estate General Authority. So for a fund the binding instrument is capital-markets regulation rather than this Law's geographical designation, and the controls that decide the answer are not published in the text read here. | Law of Real Estate Ownership and Investment by Non-Saudis (Royal Decree), articles 2(3), 2(4), 3 and 4, with article 14 superseding Royal Decree No. M/15 of 17/4/1421H and article 15 bringing the Law into force 180 days after publication. Read from the English text published by the Real Estate General Authority, where the legislation is marked Active. | 2026-09-07 |
What is missing, and why
currency — Source does not cover this market
The dataset simply does not include this territory. Absent, not zero.
The European Central Bank publishes no euro reference rate for this currency, so there is no twelve-month entry window to state. That is a fact about the series, not about the market.
supply — Source does not cover this market
The dataset simply does not include this territory. Absent, not zero.
No statistics agency for this market has been read and cleared for republication.
What supports this, what would make it wrong, and how it could go
Record
| Why this market is on the list | Existing financing and valuation coverage is supplemented on 2026-09-06 by the replacement non-Saudi ownership law and the final implementing regulations published by REGA. Geographic access remains parcel-specific; the interactive zone boundaries were not readable in this review. Legal prerequisites do not establish practical banking or transaction access. |
|---|---|
| Dossier | None written. Layers and rules only, which is why this market reads as “Measured” rather than reviewed. |
| Next review | 2026-11-15 |
| Evidence snapshot | 2026-10-06 |